Register Now for the 2019 Fall ESOP Forum (Salt Lake City, Sept. 17–18)

Are you an NCEO member? Learn more or sign up now.

Home »

The Innovations in Employee Ownership Award

Sponsored by TEOCO

Driven by engaged, entrepreneurial employees, employee-owned companies often emerge as industry leaders, pioneering best practices in a range of areas. The Innovations in Employee Ownership Award, administered by the NCEO and the Beyster Institute at the Rady School of Business, UC San Diego, are designed to recognize employee-owned companies that have demonstrated a commitment to promoting employee ownership and innovation in their workplaces.
Innovations in Employee Ownership Award
Innovations in Employee Ownership AwardThe Innovations in Employee Ownership Award seeks to recognize the innovative practices that result from having an engaged workforce of employee-owners, as well as ideas that tie stock to improved company culture or performance. By sharing these ideas with the employee ownership community, this award strives to encourage employee-owned companies to continue to innovate.

An award committee determines the winning companies using a number of factors including the positive impact the innovation has on the company's culture, performance, employees, the industry, the employee-ownership community, as well as the public perception of employee ownership.

For a list of past winners, click here.

Award Eligibility

Any company with a stock or stock-based program is eligible (from ESOPs to stock appreciation rights).*

Companies may apply directly or be nominated by third parties. In the case of a third-party nomination, the company nominated will be contacted and asked to fill out an application.

There is no fee for companies to apply for the Innovations in Employee Ownership Award.

*All companies that share ownership may apply.

Submission Information

To apply for the 2018 Innovations Award, please submit this application (PDF format) to Dallan Guzinski by March 2, 2018, by e-mailing it to (Note: This is a PDF with form fields, and if you open it within a web browser, you may not be able to enter text if the browser doesn't support it; in that case, save it to disk and open it with Adobe Acrobat.) The Award winners will be notified by March 20, 2017.

You may also submit an online application at this link (opens in new window).

For more information, please contact Dallan Guzinski at or 510-208-1301.